Inspirations

The choice of silver

Demanding to work with, easy to wear: silver is STATEMENT’S fundamental element.

Mythical metal

In mythology and astrology alike, silver is a feminine principle, connected to the Moon. Unlike the immortal Sun, the appearance of the Moon varies according to its cycle. Mirror of the Moon, silver reflects the chiaroscuro nature of a shapeshifting woman.

Silver is also one of Minerva’s most powerful attributes in Ancient Rome mythology. Goddess of war, wisdom, elevated thoughts and the arts, she urges us to surpass. In France, Minerva’s profile serves as a hallmark for silver 925.

Living matter

The flexibility of silver stands out compared to hard metals such as gold. More difficult to work with, silver demands real jeweller craftsmanship. Pleasant to the touch, silver lives in symbiosis with skin. It may get darker as it acquires patina and releases a rare energy.

Made with rhodium plated sterling silver, STATEMENT pieces evolve over time: the plating makes the brightness of silver longer-lasting, but it eventually dims due to skin contact. Our jewellery sublimates the signs of ageing; it magnifies the tension between the tenderness of patinated silver and the toughness of everlasting diamond.

Natural Diamonds

STATEMENT is a paradoxical brand, which explores tensions. This monochrome alliance of silver and diamond provides sobriety and elegance to our jewellery.

STATEMENT makes the choice of working with natural diamonds. Born out of extreme conditions, some 150 kilometers into the bowels of the Earth, the youngest of natural diamonds are at least 900 million years old: this geological miracle makes them the rarest of gems. Thanks to their color, their purity, their inclusions, diamonds have developed a unique personality.

Brutalism

Our jewellery draws inspiration from brutalist architecture, this movement found visual poetry in the grey coldness of concrete. Striking and imposing, symetrical and impersonal, this architecture offers a moment of eternity, a form of stripped down integrity. At times, some “accident” occurs in the concrete, scarring the matter and rekindling the humaneness of the building.

This movement influenced the geometrical, monochrome, handmade quality of STATEMENT jewellery. Each piece is unique and carries traces of those who made it, each accident is an emotion, a birthmark. Just like “béton brut”, silver bears the signs of time.

Decopunk

The graphics of STATEMENT jewellery owe much to Decopunk. This movement has turned the staples of Art Déco into something else entirely, something subversive, tainted and messy. More contrasted, it retains the chrome-plated glamour of Art Deco and propels it into the 21st century.

Decopunk implicitly runs through futuristic universes, as well as science-fiction mangas whose female leads are cyborgs with steel armors to protect their delicate flaws. This movement invites every woman to draw on the heritage of the previous century and chart her own path forward, firmly anchored in her time.

“STATEMENT embodies jewellery as armor. I’ve always been defiant of jewellery as an enslaving ornament, inherently shallow. I needed to create pieces that make a statement, as part and parcel of the identity of the woman wearing it. Freed from other people’s opinions, STATEMENT jewellery stands for women and their personalities caught between darkness and light”.

CONVICTIONS

DISCOVER

ROCK AWAY COLLECTION

SHOP NOW

ALL THE PRODUCTS

SHOP NOW

Inspirations

Le choix de l'argent

L’argent se travaille avec précision et se porte sans artifice : c’est l’élément fondamental de STATEMENT.

Métal mythique

En mythologie comme en astrologie, l’argent est un principe féminin relié à la Lune. Contrairement au Soleil, l’apparence de la Lune change au gré de son mouvement cyclique. Miroir de la Lune, l’argent reflète les métamorphoses d’une femme en clair-obscur.

L’argent est également l’un des plus puissants attributs de Minerve dans la mythologie romaine. Déesse de la guerre, de la sagesse, de la pensée élevée et des arts, elle nous incite à nous dépasser, la tête de Minerve est d’ailleurs le poinçon certifiant l’argent 925 en France.

Matière vivante

La souplesse de l’argent l’oppose à la dureté de l’or ou du platine. Plus difficile à travailler, il nécessite un véritable savoir-faire joaillier. Agréable au porter, l’argent vit en symbiose avec la peau : il se patine, peut s’assombrir, dégage une énergie rare.

En argent 925 rhodié, les pièces STATEMENT évoluent au fil du temps : si la technique du rhodiage prolonge la brillance de l’argent, celui-ci s’estompe peu à peu au contact de la peau. L’argent se patine et révèle l’éclat du diamant. Notre joaillerie sublime les marques du temps et magnifie cette dualité.

Le diamant naturel

STATEMENT est une marque de paradoxes, qui aime exploiter les tensions. Cette union monochrome de l’argent et du diamant confère à notre joaillerie sa sobriété et son élégance.

STATEMENT fait le choix du diamant naturel. Nés dans des conditions extrêmes, parfois 150 kilomètres dans les entrailles de la Terre, les plus jeunes diamants naturels ont au moins 900 millions d’années : c’est ce miracle géologique qui fait leur rareté. Par leur couleur, leur pureté, leurs inclusions, les diamants ont développé une personnalité unique.

Le brutalisme

Nos créations puisent dans l’architecture brutaliste, ce mouvement a su trouver une forme de poésie visuelle dans le gris froid du béton. Remarquable, imposante, symétrique, cette architecture offre un fragment d’éternité, une intégrité sans fioriture. Parfois, un « accident » survient dans le béton, laissant comme une cicatrice dans la matière et redonnant toute son humanité au bâtiment.

Ce courant inspire la joaillerie STATEMENT, géométrique, monochrome et fait main. Chaque pièce est unique et porte les traces de ceux qui l’ont faite, chaque accident est une émotion, une marque de la vie. À la manière du béton brut, l’argent garde la trace du temps qui passe.

Le mouvement décopunk

Le style Decopunk intègre les codes de l’Art Déco pour mieux les réinventer, les salir, les ternir. Plus contrasté, il conserve l’aspect glamour et chromé de l’Art Déco tout en le projetant dans le XXIème siècle.

Il traverse en filigrane les univers futuristes et les mangas d’anticipation, dont les femmes-robots se couvrent d’armures d’acier pour protéger leurs failles délicates. Ce mouvement invite chaque femme à puiser dans l’héritage du siècle passé pour tracer sa voie, résolument ancrée dans son époque.

« STATEMENT incarne une joaillerie armure en opposition à la joaillerie parure. J’avais besoin de présenter le bijou non pas comme un simple accessoire, mais comme une pièce, partie identitaire et intégrante de celle qui la porte. Libérée du regard de l’autre, la joaillerie STATEMENT représente les femmes et leur personnalité en clair-obscur ».

CONVICTIONS

DéCOUVRIR

COLLECTION ROCK AWAY

SHOP NOW

TOUS LES PRODUITS

SHOP NOW